New Realm of Battle gaming boards for Age of Sigmar?

Yesterday I picked up my copy for Warhammer: Age of Sigmar. And while this was not (yet) allowed by Games Workshop, my Friendly Local Gaming Store usually has no problems in selling me stuff before the official release date. I of course do not mind this and am very happy to support my FLGS if they allow me to get my greedy hands on some pretty miniatures early.

It was after I inspected the new and beautiful miniatures on the sprues, that I started browsing through the other content included in the box. And while browsing through the book Age of Sigmar book I noticed something that I had not seen before. I appears that we can see new Realm of Battle gaming boards in some of the photos included in the book. While these photos are not very clear, as there are lots of miniatures on the board naturally, the gaming board itself appears different from the boards that we already know from Games Workshop.

Warhammer: Age of Sigmar - Realm of Battle gaming table Closeup
Are we looking at a new Realm of Battle table from Games Workshop? It appears so as the iconography in the centre of this image is something I have never seen before in a GW gaming board. – Image by Games Workshop

In the two photos I’ve taken from the Age of Sigmar book, you can clearly see some crumbling flooring in the centre of the image. And even though this is not the famous two tailed comet from Warhammer Fantasy, it does have a resemblance with the iconography from Warhammer. In the second image, the spread over two pages, you can see additional stonework in the top right corner. Behind the Stormcast Ethernal Prosecutors (the angel like warriors) you can also see the images that are not yet in the Games Workshop gaming table range. On this tile, you can even see the wheel with the signs for the different Winds of Magic . The winds that form the foundation of the Realms in Age of Sigmar.

In addition, the different ‘maps’ that are shown in the scenario section are also divided in a 2×2 foot grid. And while it would not be necessary to ‘illustrate’ these quadrants, it appears that these ‘tiles’ are illustrated with images that resemble some of the pieces shown in the spread with the Stormcast Eternals. In other words, I think we can expect some new ‘Realm of Battle tables.

Warhammer: Age of Sigmar - Realm of Battle overview
In this spread from the Age of Sigmar book included in the Warhammer: Age of Sigmar starter set you can see the ‘Wheel of Magic’ in the top right corner behind the Stormcast Eternal Prosecutors. – Image by Games Workshop

So what do you think? Are we looking at a new Realm of Battle set? And if so, would you be willing to shell out the huge amount of money that these gaming tables usually cost? Let me know in the comments.

 

One comment

  1. There are a few interesting points in time in this posting but I do not determine if I see these people center to heart. There may be some validity but Let me take hold opinion until I take a look at it further. Very good write-up , thanks and we want much more! Included in FeedBurner likewise

    Like

Leave a Reply

